Wesleyan Names Mains and Rappe as Morehead-Cain Scholarship Nominees

The College Advising Office is pleased to announce that both Lindsey Mains and Lindsay Rappe have been nominated by a faculty committee as Wesleyan’s nominees for the Morehead-Cain Scholarship at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The Morehead-Cain Foundation seeks competitive applicants, who demonstrate moral force of character, academic scholarship, physical vigor, and leadership. The scholarship process is extremely selective; only three percent of nominees are awarded the scholarship each year.
In addition to her numerous academic honors, Lindsey Mains is editor-in-chief of Wesleyan School’s Literary magazine, founder of Wesleyan’s Garden Club, and a four-year member of the swim team. Representative of her love for reading, she serves on the Teen Advisory Council for Peachtree Corners Library, and she was selected to attend the prestigious Governor’s Honors program this past summer with a focus on communicative arts.
Wesleyan’s second nominee for the Morehead-Cain scholarship is Lindsay Rappe. In addition to her strong academic record, Rappe serves as vice president of Wesleyan’s student council, is captain of the swim team, serves with the Hand-in-Hand program in Wesleyan’s lower school, and is a four-year member of the volleyball, swim-and-dive, and track-and-field teams.
Both ladies serve as Wesleyan Ambassadors for admissions tours and help lead SALSA (Students Advocating for Life without Substance Abuse) programming to lower and middle-school students.
If awarded, the Morehead Cain scholarship covers the full cost of attendance at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill along with unique learning and travel opportunities. Our nominees have completed a rigorous application process including writing essays, securing recommendations, and if invited to be semi-finalists, will interview with the scholarship selection committees. Congratulations to the Mains and Rappe families for this tremendous honor and best wishes to our nominees in their quests to become Morehead-Cain scholars!